Last night I was playing Ogame. Its a browser-based MMO set in space. The game is simplistic and the design is rudimentary. I play it for the social aspect; I need adults to communicate with and although some of these folks are petulant whiners who most likely troll forums (Forums? Huh. I almost said Boards, I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks). There are a few whose company I do enjoy. (On a related note, if you are looking for a game where the action is a bit more intense, I recommend Space Pioneers). Anyway, I was up until about 2 AM last night as my space-ships in-game were traveling to defend someone's planet. During this time, I was chatting with Naraku (that is his Ogame nic) about football, and he, like me, he enjoys a good ball-game. Granted, we all want our chosen team to win, but when its a good game it some how makes a loss a bit more tolerable. So I had mused to him through our IM window that the late hits on Brett Farve were uncalled for - or should I say 'literally uncalled' (and he - a Saints fan, agreed). Clearly, the Vikings were the better team, but for some reason, the team was not in sync. So many turn-overs and the game was *still* tied at the end? It looked like the the Cardinals were caught unprepared, and the Vikings should have known better, did not act as such. And I suddenly asked myself why. - Is there truly an underground movement to create a "Cinderella Story" for the Saints? I guess next Sunday we shall see. Or should I say, I'll read about it. I have no intention of watching the game. I cannot draw my attention to anything that I have lost respect for.
Granted, that is nothing more than a hypothesis as I have no proof of the matter. Admittedly, the alternative is that the referee's were not showing signs of being biased or corrupt and favoring the saints. It may very well be that the officials were simply incompetent. After all, several days after the Saints-Vikings game, the Saints were fined $30,000.00 for their actions. Hmmmm....does Roger Goodell actually believe that would help? They lost face and just proved it again. In a real-life scenario, that would be like someone side-swiping your car on the freeway and then he gets pulled over and is issued a $7.00 speeding ticket before being sent on his way.
Whatever.
Maybe it is merely chance and coincidence. A series of unfortunate and incompetent mistakes by so many. Of course, if that is the case, I suspect that due to the directions of their defensive coordinator, Gregg Williams (who instructed his defensive unit to focus on ruthless quarterback hitting) that there might be some serious payback as the teams the Saints abused with a huge lack of sportsman-like conduct decide that turn-about is fair play.
For next year, I would think many people would feel vindicated if the Saints were decimated next year by the Cardinals and Vikings. Of course, should the Vikings win the Superbowl in 2011, the NFL will most certainly have their lock-out...
"Here endth The Rant."
==========================================================================
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment