Thursday, March 4, 2010

This morning the kids were playing with lego's, then started to draw one huge action scene on a large sheet of paper. They've come a long way in their Star Wars terminology. General Grevious is not a sad army-man. At one time, I did try to explain the concept of a cybernetic organism to them but that got lost on them. I did a better job explaining Godzilla. (see my Feb 5th post "Sorry I was late.")

I let the kids watch and play the LEGO STAR WARS game for the wii before they saw any of the movies. I didn't realize what kind of a skewed influence they would have had going from the 2nd medium, to the original. I should have known...With the fake interactivity TV broadcasts to children (characters on-screen prompt the child to say their name, guess what letter comes after G, etc), she believes that the TV tube truly is an interactive experience, and she will literally run into another room shrieking when something scares her. (I wonder if this will carry on into her adult life. Will she be talking to the movie screen? Or yelling to characters on stage?!)

Since my son had already seen the movies, I was comfortable with her watching them on her own with out him getting jealous. Naturally, we started watching the movies in order of their release (not in order of story-line).

If I may point out a few of the highlights;
She cheered when she first saw R2D2 (R2D2 is her favorite character).

"Yay! Its 'Stormy Stormtrooper'!" ("Stormy" is the name of her Lego Stormtrooper.)

"Oh-oh, remember," she yelled with great urgency at the characters on the TV, "Shoot them twice, and their hearts will pop-out!"

Then she asks me....
"Dad, is that a good Stormtrooper?"
- No.
"How about that one?"
- No.
"That one?"
- No.
"Which one is?"
- None.
"Why?"
- Because they work for Darth Vader.
"Why?"
- Because he's a bad-Jedi and he's their boss.
"Why is he bad?"
...that conversation was reminiscent of my Feb 5th post "Sorry I was late.".

When Ben and Luke arrive at the Cantina at Mos Eisley=
"Dad, look! Its the bonus room!"

"Dad, why can't Luke do the Jedi-Super-Slam?"
- Because in the hierarchy of Jedi Knights, Luke is a wuss.

And then we watched Empire Strikes Back.
I'm not going to go into that sordid mess...I have an unopened bottle of Merlot calling me...

So here endith the Blog...

No comments:

Post a Comment